Wednesday, 2 February 2011

United Nations Population Award

Each year, the Committee for the United Nations Population Award presents an award to an individual(s) and/or institution(s) in recognition of outstanding contributions to increasing the awareness of population questions and to their solution.

The Award, which was established by the General Assembly in November 1981, in resolution 36/201, and was first presented in 1983, consists of a gold medal, a diploma and a monetary prize.

Written nominations for the Award may be received from:
a)    Governments of Members States;
b)    Intergovernmental organizations engaged in population-related activities;
c)    Population-related non-governmental organizations having consultative status with the United Nations;
d)    University professors of population or population-related institutions; and
e)    Laureates of the Award.

Each nominator is asked to submit no more than one nomination, either for an individual or for an institution. 

Nominations for the award are accepted through 1 December of each year. 

For further enquiries on the United Nations Population Award, please send email to: Ms. Lourdeth Ferguson (ferguson[at] or Mr. Kwabena Osei-Danquah ( or visit:
United Nations Population Award Website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...