Friday, 18 February 2011

The May 18 Memorial Foundation accepting nominations for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights

The May 18 Memorial Foundation in Gwangju, Korea has announced the call for nominations for its annual Gwanju Prize for Human Rights 2011. The $50,000 Prize is offered to an individual or an organization contributed or struggled for the improvement and advancement of human rights, democracy and peace.

The Prize was established in 2000 commemorating the Gwangju Democratic Uprising in which the people of Gwangju put up a resistance against the brutal military forces for the sake of Democracy and Human Rights in 1980. The event was an important moment in the history of South Korea as it transitioned to democracy.

Eligibility for the Prize
1) A person or group eligible for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights nominated by another individual or organization. An individual cannot nominate him/herself and cannot be nominate by their own organization.

2) A person or group who has been struggling for justice and democracy for their community and country.

3) A person or group who contributed towards democracy and human rights movements through their work in their organization.

The prize winner will receive the prize money (50,000 USD), medal and certificate. The prize winner is expected to attend press conferences and a Special Celebration Concert on May 19, 2011.

Please note that only nominations are can be sent (self-nominations not accepted) but the nominator of the Prize winner will also get the opportunity to attend the prize ceremony along with Prize winner.

Besides this main prize, the Foundation has also started the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights Special Award to be given out from 2011 onwards to those who work for the improvement of human rights by the means of journalism, culture, literature, and many other fields. The special prize will be provided every 2 years. The prize winner will also receive some prize money (5,000,000 Korean won, approximately 4,500 USD) and a certificate at the same Awards ceremony. Nominators can use the same nomination form as that of the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights.

The deadline to submit nominations is 1 March 2011. For more information, visit this link.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...