Sunday, 20 November 2011

The Tech Museum invites Nominations for the Tech Awards to encourage Use of Technology for Betterment of the Society

The Tech Awards is an initiative of the Tech Museum that was launched in November 2000 to recognize innovators who try to apply technology for the benefit of the humanity. These awards honor individuals, non-profit organizations and for-profit companies who are using technology to significantly improve human conditions in 5 award categories. The award concept and the five different categories of Tech Awards were inspired in part by the State of the Future report, published by the Millennium Project of the American Council of the United Nations University.

The Tech Museum is currently inviting nominations for the Tech Awards 2012. The Tech Awards program inspires global engagement in applying technology to humanity’s most pressing problems by recognizing individuals, organizations, and companies that use innovative technology solutions.

The Laureates
The Tech Awards laureates represent regions as diverse as the Netherlands, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, Philippines and the United States. Their work influences people in many more countries worldwide. This year’s laureates were selected from more than 1,000 nominations sourced largely by The Tech Museum’s program partner, SCU’s Center for Science, Technology, and Society (CSTS), an interdisciplinary center focused on promoting the use of science and technology to benefit underserved communities worldwide.

Award Categories
  • Intel Environment Award
  • Flextronics Economic Development Award
  • Microsoft Education Award
  • Katherine M. Swanson Young Innovator Award
  • Nokia Health Award
  • Sustainable Energy Award

Selection Criteria

Nominations are evaluated according to the following criteria:
  • The technology application significantly improves the human condition in one of the five award areas: environment, economic development, education, equality, or health.
  • A serious problem or challenge with global significance is addressed by this use of technology.
  • The application of this technology, which may be either a new invention or an innovative use of an existing technology, makes a noteworthy contribution that surpasses previous or current solutions.
  • The technology application has the potential to serve as an inspiration or model for further innovation.
  • The technology application is in the field and has demonstrated a measurable benefit.


After submission of nominations by the applicants, the Tech Awards team will review them to ensure they meet the program’s requirements for eligibility. If your nomination is accepted, you will be invited to submit a more detailed application, and required to provide references (e.g., business colleagues, professors, mentors, or members of the group applying).
Last date for submitting the nominations is April 6, 2012.
For more information, visit this link.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...