Tuesday, 27 December 2011

Nominations Open for Individuals and Organizations for the Nansen Refugee Award 2012

Nominations are now open for the Nansen Refugee Award 2012 which is instituted to honor an individual or an organization each year in recognition of extraordinary and dedicated service to refugees and is the most prestigious honor conferred by UNHCR.
Formerly known as the Nansen Medal, this award is named after the late Norwegian polar explorer Fridtjof Nansen, the first League of Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and the winner of the 1922 Nobel Peace Prize.

Nomination Process
Any person can nominate candidates (individuals, groups of people or organizations) involved in work supporting the cause of refugees to be considered for the Nansen Refugee Award.
 Whatever their creed, color, age or profession, every winner put in extraordinary effort and time to help the forcibly displaced around the world. More than 60 individuals, groups or organizations have won the Nansen Refugee Award since Eleanor Roosevelt became the first winner in 1954.
Nominations are encouraged for a variety of candidates, ranging from people who have exhibited extraordinary acts of courage, selflessness or dedication to government and political leaders, members of civil society and aid workers who have given life-long service to the refugee cause.
Self-nominations and nominations of current or former UNHCR staff are not encouraged.

Selection Process and Award Ceremony
The Award is bestowed annually by the Nansen Refugee Award Committee, which is chaired by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and comprises a number of personalities nominated by governments and international agencies.

Nominations are received by the Nansen Refugee Award secretariat, which conducts technical research to verify that the candidate exists and that they are eligible to be nominated.
A UNHCR advisory group meets to compile a short list of 10 candidates. This is reviewed in more depth before it is considered by the Committee and the laureate is selected. The Committee seeks to achieve a unanimous or majority decision.

When the laureate is selected, the person, persons or organization is informed of the decision, and the Committee waits for their acceptance.
The Award ceremony is normally held in October in Geneva. The award consists of a commemorative medal and a US$100,000 monetary prize donated by the governments of Norway and Switzerland.
For more information, visit this link.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...