Thursday, 30 October 2014

The Global Resilience Challenge for Building Resilience to Acute Shocks and Chronic Stresses in Select Regions: A call by the Rockefeller Foundation and USAID

Deadline: 21 November 2014
The Rockefeller Foundation and the USAID (United States Agency for International Development) invite proposals from organizations to participate in the Global Resilience Challenge for Building Resilience to Acute Shocks and Chronic Stresses in the Sahel, Horn of Africa, and South and Southeast Asia. The primary objectives are to promote resilience to a range of shocks and stresses by developing and testing novel solutions that address local contexts; and then, with dedicated public and private sector funding, to implement and scale the most promising solutions in the Sahel, the Horn of Africa, and South and Southeast Asia.
The challenge intends to improve our understanding of regional vulnerabilities, strengths, and interdependencies, while fostering collaboration, increasing capacity, and building resilience on a large scale.
  1. Teams for Resilience – interdisciplinary teams will self-organize and apply to the Challenge with a list of Resilience Team members and their qualifications, and a Pre-Proposal that describes the direction the Resilience Team will take in their Stage Two Problem Statement.
  2. Problems and Solutions for Resilience – grounded, problem diagnosis and solution development stage. Finalist Resilience Teams will be awarded up to $200,000 USD to participate in this stage.
  3. Action for Resilience – Implementation of Solution Proposals and Solution Implementation Plans – evaluation of solution proposals and solution implementation plans. The winning Resilience Teams will be given a monetary award, of up to $1.0 million USD, for implementation of their Solution proposal and Solution Implementation Plan to be used for building resilience to the identified problem.
Team lead organizations must obtain a Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number and registered with the System for Award Management (SAM). They will have to provide DUNS number and proof of SAM registration upon notification of selection for funding.
Eligibility Criteria
  • Applicants (team lead organizations) can be US and non-US foundations, NGOs, faith based organizations, colleges and universities, civic groups and private businesses, business and trade associations.
  • Foreign governments, non-incorporated entities, and individuals are not eligible to apply. Colleges, universities, and research facilities that are funded by, and/or affiliated with, a foreign government are not considered a foreign government.
  • All Resilience Teams must demonstrate experience in interdisciplinary problem analysis and program implementation related to the region and topics.
  • All teams must include at least one local organization whose operations are primarily located in the team’s selected region.
  • At least one team member should have experience working on publicly funded projects.
  • All teams selected in Stage One to participate in the Challenge must continue to meet these requirements in each Stage in order to be eligible for any awards and for participation in subsequent Stages.
  • Each Resilience Team must identify specific needs to improve resilience and demonstrate the commitment, creativity, and capacity of its members to address resilience needs.
Note: Awards may not be made if any Team Member is on the USG Excluded Parties List, or that is from, or with a principal place of business in, a country subject to trade and economic sanctions administered by the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) of the Department of Treasury or to any individual or entity subject to targeted trade and economic sanctions administered by OFAC. Check here for more details.
For more information, please visit Global Resilience Partnership.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...