Thursday, 18 August 2011

IAWRT 2011 International Awards for Excellence in Documentary

The International Association of Women in Radio and Television (IAWRT) is seeking invitations for the 2011 International Awards for Excellence in Documentary Making.

The IAWRT Awards are aimed at recognizing the outstanding documentaries made by women and are open to all female producers, directors and journalists working with radio, television and film documentaries anywhere in the world.

Documentaries must be about women who are making a difference to their own lives or to the lives of other women. Entries must be between 20 – 90 minutes long for Film and 15 – 60 minutes for Radio and have been broadcast, or shown at a competitive festival from October 2009 – September 2011.

An international jury of professionals will assess entries and the winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner during the IAWRT 34th Biennial Conference in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 21-24 November 2011.

The Award for the most outstanding documentary in each medium is US $1,000.


Only women producers/directors/writers are eligible. The documentary must be created by women and the theme must be about women. The competition is open to Television and Radio stations as well as to independent producers/directors and program-makers.

Award Categories

-     For Radio – 15– 60 min. in length For Television – 20 – 90 min. in length

-     All entries must have been aired on a television/radio channel or screened at a competitive festival between October 2009 and September 2011.

-     All TV documentaries must be presented with English subtitles, English voice over, or accompanied by a written English translation.

-     Radio documentaries must be submitted in English or with a manuscript translated into English.

-     Programs submitted without meeting these requirements will not be considered eligible for the competition.


All entries will be viewed by a jury of professional radio and TV producers, directors, filmmakers or decision makers in the world of broadcasting.

Deadline for submitting the entries is September 15, 2011

For more information and details, please visit this link.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...