Sunday, 28 August 2011

Teach A Man to Fish seeks entries for “EDUCATING AFRICA Pan-African Awards

Teach A Man to Fish seeks entries for “EDUCATING AFRICA Pan-African Awards for Entrepreneurship in Education” from organizations in Africa with a focus on education

Teach A Man To Fish in partnership with Educating Africa are accepting entries for The EDUCATING AFRICA Pan-African Awards for Entrepreneurship in Education, a competition aimed at rewarding organizations in Africa that use innovative and entrepreneurial techniques to fill gaps in educational services across the continent. The competition is open to all organizations based in Africa working in education, from primary through to tertiary, as well as in non-formal and adult education.

First Prize winner will be awarded $10,000 and two Runners-Up Prizes comprise $5,000, besides up to 50 Awards of $1,000 are available for the best entry from every country on the continent. The top three award-winners will also receive a fully sponsored trip for the awards presentation to “Education That Pays For Itself 2012” the premier international conference on Sustainable Education.

Project Criteria
The main features the organizers are looking for in projects are:
-      They’re Entrepreneurial: developing innovative, replicable & scalable approaches to tackling entrenched problems in education; empowering future generations of entrepreneurs
-      They’re Sustainable: financially, socially and environmentally; looking beyond donations and subsidies as the primary means of creating positive social and environmental outcomes
-      They Create Impact: achieving measurable results in terms of educational achievement and economic outcomes for participants and their communities

Eligibility Criteria

1.    The competition is open to all organizations with a focus on education located in one of the 54 African countries (listed below) for which awards are available.

2.    Entries can be submitted on behalf on another organization – e.g. by non-African NGOs on behalf of their local partner / office – however prize monies and conference travel bursaries must be claimed by, and used for the benefit of, the Africa-based organization itself.

3.    The full list of African countries for which awards are available is as follows:
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic of the), Congo Brazzaville (also known as Republic of the Congo), Côte d’Ivoire (commonly known as Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

4.    All entries must be accompanied by work contact details of a suitable referee who is able to confirm that the contents of the entry are a true and accurate representation of the entrant’s work

5.    Referees must be i) independent of your organisation and ii) either a government official, qualified professional, or senior employee of an internationally recognized institution.

6.    Qualified professionals for the purpose of this competition include: teachers (employed by a different institution), doctors, lawyers, judges, accountants, bankers, engineers, and police officers.

7.    Referees cannot include family members of the entrant.

Last date for submission of entries is October 10, 2011
For more information and details, you can visit this link.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...